Realty By JM

Salt and Light of Philippine Realty

Sustainer

1 Kings 17:1-24

For this is what the LORD, the God of Israel, says: There will always be flour and olive oil left in your containers until the time when the LORD sends rain and the crops grow again!” – 1 Kings 17:14

In this story, God reminded me of His promise. He will sustain me when I put Him first and obey His precepts. He also revealed to me that his provisions shall be delivered by someone or something I don’t usually expect it from. Elijah‘s provisions was delivered by a crow and a widow!

Wholeheartedly giving tithes is one way I show total obedience and faithfulness to God. I’m not sharing this because I want to brag or anything. Just like the widow, I  think I don’t have enough. Personally, I have debts to pay. There are times that my wife and I don’t think we’ll have food to eat until the next pay check. But, my wife and I continue to put God first and give what is His. Everything we have came from Him anyhow! Tithing reminds us that we are mere stewards.

You know what, because we remained obedient and faithful, we’re well sustained. Well beyond the next pay check, hopefully! Just when the fridge starts to be empty, my mother or mother-in-law drops by to bring cooked food good for at least 3 days! And when I really need some money, a check from a commission suddenly clears.

How about you? Do you trust God to sustain you? How?

Glory to God!

Filed under: Christianity, Reflections, Spirituality, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Please share your thoughts