Realty By JM

Salt and Light of Philippine Realty

Undefeated Competitor

1 Kings 18:16-40

Then Elijah stood in front of them and said, “How much longer will you waver, hobbling between two opinions? If the LORD is God, follow him! But if Baal is God, then follow him!” But the people were completely silent. – 1 Kings 18:21

Today, God reminded me that He is the alpha and the omega. He is the only master I should listen to, honor and serve. He is the only foundation I need to build my life around to be stable. In addition, He revealed to me the futility of spending resources calling false gods.

A few years back I recall seeking other idols or gods. My new age Baal was Pop Psychology, Philosophy and Astrology. I followed and believed too many ideologies of this world that it left me shaky. It only confused me! It was misleading and I got lost. It didn’t answer who I am and what I’m here for. In addition, I only listened to what was pleasing to my ears. Worst of all, after reading so many books, I thought I was wise.

Now, I know I was a fool. It took me 35 years to realize that the Bible has all the answers I’ve been looking for. Listening to other Baals / other false gods just slowed me down from realizing the truth. I’ve been asking the wrong question all along! Instead of asking: “Who am I?“, I now ask myself: “Whose am I?” Since I accepted Jesus as my Lord and Savior, I can confidently answer: “I’m God’s child and I’m temporarily here to please and exalt Him.

It’s gut check time. Do you have other gods? If yes, may I encourage you to give it up?

Glory to God!

Filed under: Christianity, Reflections, Spirituality, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Please share your thoughts

