Realty By JM

Salt and Light of Philippine Realty

Orchestrator of Perfect Justice

Esther 6:1 – 7:10

Then Harbona, one of the eunuchs attending the king, said, “A gallows seventy-five feet high stands by Haman’s house. He had it made for Mordecai, who spoke up to help the king.” The king said, “Hang him on it!” – Esther 7:9

God the father in heaven reminded me today that He humbles the proud and evil plots against someone backfires sooner or later.

Just recently, I was asked to read God‘s word for a Christian wedding. I accepted for I know I am more than qualified to do the task. I was a former Lector at our local Catholic church! I’ve been there before and I know what to expect. I’ll awe the audience with the way I read the Word just like before. Sounds overly proud, don’t you think?

The moment came. The other reader didn’t arrive early. I thought to myself: “So what? I’ll be glad to take his place. This just means more air time for me. I’ve read his passage before! I’ll awe the audience still!” I arrived thirty minutes before the ceremony and instead of practicing, I was taking photos and busy uploading it on facebook. The other reader, who happens to be a friend, arrived just in time.

To cut the long story short, The first thing that came out of my mouth was a mistake. I felt nervous afterwards and my wife said I sounded tense. I didn’t deliver and, needless to say, I didn’t awe the audience.

Little did I know that I was already sinning in my heart. I was both proud and somewhat plotting evil. God, the orchestrator of perfect justice, humbled and shamed me in front a crowd!

Glory to God!

Filed under: Christianity, Reflections, Spirituality, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Please share your thoughts

