Realty By JM

Salt and Light of Philippine Realty

When was the last time you’ve been swindled? (part 2)

So, Saturday came and I have no idea who will represent me to show the said property.  Like I said in the previous post, I thought negatively about this listing and calculated a slim chance of a close.  Since this is so, I called the person who I thought was the owner.  Told her I won’t be able to make it because of an engagement, sent her an sms of my prospects number and apologized for the sudden change of plan.  I think this has become my bad habit for it wasn’t the first time I did this.

I also informed the prospect I won’t be meeting with her and explained everything.  She did not mind and it was a big relief for me.  After this, I totally forgot about the said transaction and enjoyed my weekend as usual.  Then Monday came and I remembered that there was a viewing last Saturday.  Got curious and phoned the prospect.  Apparently, she and her fiance’ liked it.  They planned to move in at the end of the week.

Since they liked it, I sent an sms to the supposedly unit owner.  I told her that there’s good news and the prospect liked the unit.  She replied: “but, I’m doing all the work” and accused me of not doing my job as the selling broker.  (This is where I realized I was also talking to a broker and not the unit owner).  Of course I told her that if she was a broker, she shouldn’t be directly getting in touch with my client without my consent.  Total violation of our code of ethics.

To cut the long story short, she never intended to give my share and I never got a piece of that pie.

I’ll continue this with what I think went wrong and the lessons I’ve learned in this transaction…

Jonas Montemayor

Real Estate Broker

PRC License #: 0007396

503-8070 / 0905-311-0120

RealtyByJM@gmail.com

www.RealtyByJM.wordpress.com

Affiliation:

Philippine Association of Real Estate Boards

Filed under: Leasing, Personal Development, Real Estate Broker, Real Estate Lesson, , ,

Please share your thoughts

