Realty By JM

Salt and Light of Philippine Realty

What’s your most gratifying realty transaction?

Mine was a surprise. It did not come from a big transaction which most realty newbie dream of. It did not even come from a very small sale. Believe it or not, it came from ‘not’ closing a sale. Without adieu, here’s what happened…

Sometime in the 2nd week of January 2011, I got a call from Jose Cuervo (not his real name). He’s an American calling fromHawaii looking at my online ad of a 2 bedroom, residential condominium unit in Ortigas center. He did not waste time and said: “I’m visitingManila next week and would like to view this unit.” To cut the long story short, we set the appointment and met on January 19, 2011. That day, I showed him two units. After two days, we met again and saw three more units handled by our MLS co-brokers. Like I said earlier, this isn’t a successful close.

Four months after, I got a call from the same guy asking questions about the title transfer process in thePhilippines. In the middle of our conversation, he asked if I can assist with the transfer process and how much would it cost him if I provide that kind of service. Since I have no experience on the matter, I said I’ll think about it. After exchanging a number of email correspondences, I finally agreed to accept the job.

I’m not disclosing what I earned because I am more gratified with his reason for contacting me and hiring my services as a real estate broker.  The feeling of being sought after, or being treated as a professional / expert, for me, is just priceless. So, what’s your story?

Filed under: Real Estate Broker, Title Transfer, , , , , , , ,

Please share your thoughts