Realty By JM

Salt and Light of Philippine Realty

Why Look For A Mentor?

I got my broker’s license sometime in June 2009. Back then, I have no idea what a real estate broker does. All I know is that I can sell. I assured myself: “if I can sell insurance (which is like selling thin air), I can sell anything.” So, I attended a seminar conducted by Pasay-Makati Realty Board (for their new corporate AVP, click here). It was a seminar intended for realty newbies. I think it was called: “So you’re a broker, now what?” Seriously, I can’t remember what the seminar was called.

After the said seminar for realty newbies, I realized that selling is only 20% (probably less) of a broker’s duty. I thought to myself: “What did I get myself into? I am actually not qualified for this post.” So, what do you do when you have a problem you don’t know how to solve? We seek counsel from people wiser than us. In this case, realty mentors.

If you don’t believe me, take the Bible’s advice:

Plans go wrong for lack of advice; many advisers bring success. –Proverbs 15:22”, or “Walk with the wise and become wise; associate with fools and get in trouble. –Proverbs 13:20”, or “The wise are mightier than the strong, and those with knowledge grow stronger and stronger. So don’t go to war without wise guidance; victory depends on having many advisers. –Proverbs 24:5-6”

I still have a ‘lot’ to learn from the realty industry. I also acknowledge that there are always people better than me. Thank you, Mentor Phil C. for always taking time to share your wisdom. I am also very grateful to all masters of the realty practice from PMRB who shared their thoughts with me.

Filed under: Pasay Makati Realty Board, Real Estate Broker, Real Estate Salespersons, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Please share your thoughts

